2015 MAY 6

WEDNESDAY MAY 6, 2015

ONGOING LONG-DURATION PROJECTS:
May 5-6:  23(+1)hr DRIFT TO MOABIT by Ilya Noé (as part of the project NETTING THE WORK)

LATITUD 32°N / 55°S

LATIN AMERICA CONTEMPORARY PERFORMANCE ART SCENE: PUBLIC-SPACE PERFORMANCE ART WORKS SHOWCASE

TIME: 12:00-22:00
LOCATION: Public Spaces in Berlin
for route visit latitud-32n55s.flavors.me
CURATED BY: Lala Nomada  www.lala-nomada.me
Photo Credit: Lala Nomada

Latitud 32°N / 55°S is a platform for the dissemination of contemporary performance art from LatinAmerica. We are convinced that through a careful selection of artists whose work is clearly away from typecasts of “Latin art” and whose methodology or technique is varied, it is possible to attest, without thematize, that performance art does not have a direct relation to the nationality of the artists, regardless of where he/ she comes from. We are aware that confronting a stereotype bring the risk of focusing more attention on it, however, we also believe that it is important to make a presentation that shows what is happening now over there. With this perspective, the curatorial work was conceived to create a sort of exhibition of ideas: the ideas that are currently being treated in the context of the invited artists. This project was created in 2012 by the performance artist Lala Nomada as an answer to own issues about identity and the confrontation to specific expectations of some audiences about her artistic work. The curating process is focus in building an exhibition of ideas which together might show the diversity and complexity of performance art, pointing out in this way the impossibility to create a general description of art focusing on nationalities.
For the complete route of performances and timings check flavors.me/latitud_32n55s

ARTISTS:
Ana Paula Camargo vimeo.com/23615644
Graciela Ovejero P.  perasdegraciela.blogspot.com.ar
Camila Rhodi www.camilarhodi.com
Liliana Albornoz www.lilianaalbornoz.wix.com/lilithalbornoz
Mariel Carranza www.marielcarranza.com
Nancy Gewoelb www.nancygewolb.com
Pancho Lopez www.aspaceforliveart.org/?page=people&id=581
Sandra Bonomini www.enelespacioentre.blogspot.com.br
Lala Nomada www.lala-nomada.me

ALL THE ANIMALS IN THE GEMÄLDEGALERIE

GUERRILLA SITE-SPECIFIC INTERVENTION

TIME: 14:00-16:00  (meet at entrance, look for MPA-B Sign)
LOCATION: Gemäldegalerie Matthäikirchplatz, 10785
ENTRANCE: Museum admission cost (approx. 10€)
Photo Credit: Anya Liftig

During this guerrilla performance intervention, Brooklyn artist Anya Liftig will infiltrate the Gemäldegalerie and mimic the gestures and expressions of animals depicted in the artworks. As a transpecies artist and organism, Liftig’s work often incorporates animal behaviors into her new identity. She is continuing her transition with the assistance of her rescue puppy, Sugihara.  Viewers will be asked to photograph or film Liftig performing her actions.  Sometimes she will linger in front of a piece for a few seconds, sometimes for half an hour or so, depending on the tolerance level of the security guards. Please bring photographic equipment to contribute to the documentation of the event.
#alltheanimals, @anyaliftig

QUESTIONS & INFORMATION:
aliftig@gmail.com
ARTIST:
Anya Liftig www.anyaliftig.com

NETTING THE WORK

PERFORMANCES AND SITE-SPECIFIC INTERVENTIONS

TIME: 19:00-23:00
LOCATION: ZK/U Center for Art and Urbanistic Siemensstrasse 27, 10551
ENTRANCE: Free
CURATED BY: Rilène Markopoulou and Eva Giannakopoulou,
www.rilene.comwww.evagiannakopoulou.com
Photo Credit: Rilène Markopoulou.

Deptocratic Identities, Performative Networkings

Netting the Work is a project that merges performative interventions, political insecurities, psychological frameworks and a process-oriented timeline both in Berlin (DE) and Besançon (FR) during the MPA-B in May and Excentricités Performance Festival in April respectively.

It is an experimental journey, a constitutive organism made of gestures related to locational, national and international artistic identities through the prism of illusions, disillusions and a priori convictions or uncertainties.

It is an embedded experience based on the examination of notions such as “Networking” in the context of political, financial and industrial practices, whilst examining the Artistic Identity as a cipher for the evolution of one’s “Self” connected to a globalised nowhere.

During the project artists from the North and South of Deptocratic Europe are going to perform, attempting to relate their physical displacement, the subjective view of specific surroundings and their impact. The variation in artistic expression induced by changing spaces and travelling using performative modes, will allow them to attempt a translation and transformation of the complex reality of multiculturalism through Displacement and Networking.

FACEBOOK EVENT:
www.facebook.com/events/345903855615550
ARTISTS:
Cecilia Ahlqvist www.cahlqvist.blogspot.de
Art Action Building ISBA
Yolanda Benalba www.cargocollective.com/yolandabenalba
Dísa Björnsdóttir www.bryndisbjorns.com
Julien Cadoret www.juliencadoret.com
Aristoteles Chaitidis
Eva Giannakopoulou www.evagiannakopoulou.com
Ioanna Gouzeli
Steinunn Gunnlaugsdóttir www.sackofstones.com
Tatiana Ilichenko www.tvilichenko.com
Alexandros Kaklamanos www.alexandroskaklamanos.com
Iolo hjtyu tuyuyu  www.lolohjtyutuyuyu.es
Rilène Markopoulou www.rilene.com
Stella Maxeiner
Moritz Metzner www.flutwerk.com
Almudena Millán
Beatriz Millón
Joana Mollà www.joanamolla.blogspot.de
Persefoni Myrtsou www.persefoni.co.uk
Danae Nagel www.danaenagel.com
Ilya Noe www.ilyanoe.com
Yiannis Pappas www.yiannispappas.com
Eleni Papaioannou www.e-pap.net
Panos Sklavenitis www.panossklavenitis.com
Aleks slota www.aleksslota.com
Antonin Lagarde www.antoninlagarde.com
George Moraitis georgemoraitis.iblogger.org
IN COLLABORATION WITH / WITH THE KIND SUPPORT OF: