2015 MAY 3

SUNDAY MAY 3, 2015 


CROSSING CONTEXTS III/III: EXPLORING NOT KNOWING

WORKSHOP

TIME: 10:00-18:00
LOCATION: Humboldt University, Faculty of Arts and Humanities, Department of Northern European Studies
www.ni.hu-berlin.de
ENTRANCE: Participation is free but by invitation only
CURATED BY: Camilla Graff Junior and Luisa Greenfield www.facebook.com/pages/Giraff-Graff + www.luisagreenfield.com

“…once you know that you don’t know, you can begin to explore.”

Whereas knowing is generally considered a positive position to be in, the unknown is often perceived to be the opposite, a condition of uncertainty, dealing with the unfamiliar, the incomprehensible. Not knowing represents a lack or absence, an inadequacy to be overcome. However, since it also contains the possibility of the not-yet and the still-to-be, seeking out not knowing as a working process translates into a form of thinking through doing.

What role does not knowing play in your own art or academic work, in your everyday life? We invite performance artists and artistic researchers to develop and explore processes of working with not knowing where failure, boredom, chance and getting lost serve as constructive methods and resources. By thinking together, we hope to map our diverse approaches to working with not knowing.

The workshop weekend joins together three communities, the Month of Performance Art – Berlin, the Artistic Research study circle at the Nordic Summer University and the study group Creativity in Academic Work at Nordeuropa-Institut Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.

* “Crossing Contexts” is a three-year program initiated in 2013.

FB INVITE: www.facebook.com/events/705854566198517
ARTISTS:
Boris Azemar
Shelley Etkin
Pepe Dayaw
Lan Hungh
Larissa Lily
Alexandra Litaker
Ilya Noé,
Joel Verwimp
and more.
IN COLLABORATION WITH /WITH THE KIND SUPPORT OF:


WORKS ON PAPER III

PERFORMANCE SERIES: EVERY SUNDAY IN MAY

TIME: 15:00-18:00
LOCATION: Momentum, Mariannenplatz 2, 10997 www.momentumworldwide.org
ENTRANCE: Free
CURATED BY: Rachel Rits-Volloch momentumworldwide.org/about-us/bio
Image Credit: Emilio Rapana

For the MPA-B 2015, MOMENTUM reprises its month-long program of Performance Sundays entitled WORKS ON PAPER.

WORKS ON PAPER inverts classic assumptions of paper as a medium, inviting performance artists to approach paper not as a static blank canvas, but as a dynamic source of conceptual and performative possibility. WORKS ON PAPER III generates a dialogue between performance artists confronted with the challenge of working with paper, and artists whose medium is paper, given the challenge of working with performance.

Taking place every Sunday in May (3, 10, 17, 24 & 31) from 3-6pm, WORKS ON PAPER III takes the form of a cumulative series of performances – with each subsequent performance engaging with the artefacts resulting from the works preceding it in the series. By generating a cumulative, site-specific series through the appropriation of the remains of one another’s performances, the artists in WORKS ON PAPER challenge and reinvigorate the notion of the stationary, disengaged exhibition. What, they ask, is the life of performance after the event concludes? Whether engaging in durational performance, instruction pieces, physical and social architecture, live performance in tandem with other media, sculpture, dance, poetry, or text, these artists challenge expectations of working with the traditional medium of paper in real-time.

Each performance is documented on video, and on 1-28 June 2015, MOMENTUM will exhibit these videos alongside the artefacts in a gallery exhibition.

MORE INFORMATION:
momentumworldwide.org/exhibitions/works-on-paper-iii
FB EVENT:
www.facebook.com/events/1424769307817614

PERFORMANCES: 
3 May at 15:00-18:00
Zhou Xiaohu, Isaac Chong Wai, Mariana Hahn, Kirsten Palz
10 May at 15:00-18:00
Amira Fattal, Marina Belikova, Sarah Lüdemann
17 May at 15:00-18:00
Andreas Blank, Adam Nankervis, David Medalla, Paul Darius
24 May at 15:00-18:00
Zeno Gries, Richard Berger
31 May at 15:00-18:00
f f (Mathilde ter Heijne, Janne Schäfer, Magda Tothova), Melisa Palacio Lopez & Sound Canteen (Pleines & Liebold)
1 – 28 June 2015:
WORKS ON PAPER III Gallery Exhibition at MOMENTUMARTISTS:
Marina Belikova www.flickr.com/photos/belikovaart
Andreas Blank www.christianehrentraut.com/artists.php?andreas_blank&artistid=24&works
Isaac Chong Wai chongwai.tumblr.com
Amir Fattal www.amir-fattal.com
Mariana Hahn marianahahn.com
Sarah Lüdemann www.sarahluedemann.com
David Medalla www.kaihilgemann.com/artists/david-medalla
Adam Nankervis www.museumman.org/news/index.php
Melisa Palacio Lopez meli.dablweb.com
Kirsten Palz www.kirsten-palz.de
f f fffffff.org
Zhou Xiaohu www.berliner-kuenstlerprogramm.de/en/gast.php?id=1244
WITH THE KIND SUPPLY OF:


EMBODIED PLACES: PERFORMANCE PRACTICES IN PUBLIC SPACE 

PUBLICATION AND PERFORMATIVE EVENT

TIME: 17:00-20:00
LOCATION: Meinblau e.V. (MPA-HUB) Haus 5D, Christinenstraße 18-19, 10119, www.meinblau.de
ENTRANCE: Free
CURATED BY: Nathalie Fari/ atelier obra viva www.atelierobraviva.org
Photo Credit: Ilya Noé

Embodied Places: Performance Practices in Public Space showcases the works that Nathalie Fari’s atelier obra viva label has produced in collaboration with artists and scholars from different fields for past editions of the Month of Performance Art–Berlin.

The catalogue explores different artistic strategies, notions and formats for developing performances in public space, using specific sites in Berlin as platforms to “embody” the city. In order to make these “embodied places” more tangible, artists were invited to write a report about what happened (or may have happened) in the space. The resulting reports not only cover the performance experience (for example particular situations, moments or gestures), they also construct a narrative by experimenting with different ways to describe a performative event, for example using either the present or past tense. The artists are therefore also acting as authors, creating their own stories based on their memories, knowledge and experiences of the event. The documentary value of a performance (a topic that is hotly debated and often difficult to understand) is therefore being reinterpreted using narrative means and set in new contexts.

As part of the publication of the catalogue, atelier obra viva has invited some of his partners to create musical, spatial and physical Interventions at the MPA-B HUB.

ARTISTS:
Anton Laub www.antonlaub.de
Bettina Wagner www.bettinawagner.de
Daniel Schäfer www.danielschaeferphoto.com
Dovrat Meron www.dovratmeron.com
Felix Astor www.felixastor.de
Grasiele Sousa www.cabelodroma.blogspot.com
Lucio Agra contemporaryperformance.org/profile/LucioAgra
Michaela Muchina www.muchina.de
Nathalie Fari www.atelierobraviva.org
Paula Marie Hildebrandt www.paulahildebrandt.de
Yvo Wagener
IN COLLABORATION WITH / WITH THE KIND SUPPORT OF:



SOUNDING THE ALARM:

THEORIES OF ANTI-SIGHT I

PERFORMANCES, DURATIONAL PROJECTS AND SOCIAL EXPERIMENTS

TIME: 20:00-23:00
LOCATION: Liebig 12 Liebigstrasse 12, 10247
ENTRANCE: 3€
CURATED BY: PPL (Esther Neff)  panoplylab.org/estherneff
Photo Credit: Jean-Stephane Sauvaire

Artist: Anya Liftig, video stillPerformance artists, conceptual social workers, and performance-based spiritualists and scientists attempt to break through the sound barrier of cultural imperialism, violence, and hegemony. Doubting the fundamental conception that “seeing is believing” within a reality where forms of sight and what is seen are dominated by capitalist agendas, we develop sonic, sensual, and social interactions, disruptions, resistances, and reifications.

FACEBOOK INVITE:
www.facebook.com/events/425564657618464/
ARTISTS:
Chloe Bass + Bill Dietz chloebass.com + www.tutorialdiversions.org
Lorene Bouboushian www.lorenebouboushian.com
Anya Liftig anyaliftig.com
Clarinda Mac Low www.culturepush.org
Ayana Evans  www.ayanaevans.com
Wild Torus wildtorus.tumblr.com
+ Artist from exhibition part II (May 5)

PART II is on May 5th >>