2014 MAY 14

WEDNESDAY, MAY 14
back to calendar



6396597_orig


TIME:
11:00-14:00, 15:00-17:00 & 19:00-23:00
WHERE: MPA-HUB, Holzmarktstraße 25, 10243
ENTRANCE: 3€
CURATED BY: Camilla Graff Junior facebook.com/pages/Giraff-Graff

Photo Credit: Nathalie Fari

THE MIRROR AND ITS REFLECTIONS is a satellite session of the Nordic Summer University “Crossing Contexts 2015-2015” artistic research study circle. Camilla Graff Junior and Luisa Greenfield’s work together running the study circle has developed into a variety of rich collaborations. The Circle counts more than 100 active members from 15 different countries and will host another satellite session for Month of Performance Art- Berlin in 2015 in the form of a three-day long symposium.

Invited artists: Boris Azemar (FR), Daina Dieva Pupkevičiūtė (LT), Anne-Liis Kogan (EE/NO), Per Roar (NO), Demi Nandhra (UK) and Myna Trustram (UK)

Collaborating team: Luisa Greenfield, Nathalie Fari, Teena Lange, Joel Verwimp and Ilya Noé
Curated by: Camilla Graff Junior
Coordination: Emily Rocher
Sound recording: Francesca Romana Ciardi
Production: Giraff Graf Thanks to: Frauke Heidenreich

In collaboration with Month of Performance Art-Berlin 2014
With the support of: Nordic Summer University, NordForsk, Arts Council Norway and Vilnius Academy of Arts.

PicturePicturePicturePicturePicturePicture

ARTISTIC RESEARCH: FOUR APPROACHES. II/IV – THE MIRROR AND ITS REFLECTIONS

INTERVENTION, DISCUSSION AND PERFORMANCES

“The mirror and its reflections” is Camilla Graff Junior’s artistic research project, which deals with the use of autobiographical materials in performance. What happens in the process of sharing personal stories? What is the driving force for doing this? Five artists and researchers from a range of fields working with autobiographical material are invited to discuss and show their work.

The session is divided into three parts. 

The first part “Who holds up the mirror for whom?” is an intervention where Camilla Graff Junior aka Mona Motel invites the artist to her couch. The dialogue will revolve around each individual performance practice and the various thematic overlaps between the artist’s work: memory, loss and the construct of identity.

The second part is a discussion on the role of the “mirror” and how a shift in perception, both on the side of the audience and the artist, can be measured. Luisa Greenfield will host the discussion featuring the artists and the collaborators on the Artistic Research team: Nathalie Fari, Joel Verwimp, Teena Lange and Ilya Noé.

The evening program, which is the third part of the session, is a presentation of selected works of the invited artists.

11:00–14:00
Camilla Graff Junior aka Mona Motel invites the artist to her grandmother’s couch with crêpes by Nini & Marcello

15:00–17:00
Discussion

19:00-23:00
Performances and dinner by the NowHere Kitchen

EACH DAY AT A TIME
Myna Trustram (UK)
CONTEMPORARY OTHERNESS
Demi Nandhra (UK)
REVISITING MARTIN
Per Roar (NO)
THE RITUAL OF COMING BACK
Anne-Liis Kogan (EE/NO)
THERAPY VII: ASSOCIATION
Daina Dieva Pupkevičiūtė (LT)


ARTISTS:
Boris Azemar www.borisazemar.tumblr.com
Daina Dieva Pupkevičiūtė www.dainadieva.wordpress.com
Anne-Liis Kogan www.anneliiskogan.com
Demi Nandhra deminandhra.com  & otherandself.squarespace.com
Per Roar www.perroar.wordpress.com
Myna Trustram www.art.mmu.ac.uk/profile/mtrustram
Luisa Greenfield www.luisagreenfield.com
NowHere Kitchen www.nowherekitchen.com
Nordic Summer University www.nsuweb.net/first/html/

FB EVENT:

www.facebook.com/events/242838685901355/